To say that Nintendo fans have been eagerly awaiting the reveal of the 'NX' hardware is an understatement. Frankly, it's all some have been able to talk about as we anticipate a new generation of gaming from the big N.

Thankfully the wait is almost over. Nintendo has announced a 'first glimpse' preview trailer for 7am Pacific / 10am Eastern / 3pm UK / 4pm CET on 20th October. The following is the tweet and press release sent by Nintendo of America.

Visit on Thursday, October 20 at 7 a.m. PT / 10 a.m. ET to be among the first to discover Nintendo NX. This preview trailer will serve as Nintendo's preliminary announcement of information regarding the platform.

Nintendo's Japanese Twitter account describes NX as a "totally new gaming concept", and advises that the trailer will be around three minutes long.

Needless to say we'll be covering it here at Nintendo Life; we'll then analyse the hardware that's shown and consider what it will bring to the gaming world - there'll surely be a lot to discuss even with an initial preview.

Give a score to your hype levels in the comments below, and let us know what you hope to see when it's revealed.