Guide: Everything Nintendo Fans Need to Follow at E3 2014

Find a comfortable seat

E3 2014 is just days away, the event that acts as the central pillar of the gaming year for reveals and exciting information on new titles. After a relatively low-key showing in 2013 in the face of two new hardware platforms from rivals, Nintendo seems to be gearing up for a stronger performance this time around. Last year did set some precedent, however, as the big N is doing things its own way once again. Its live event is going to be a celebration and tournament, while rather than Nintendo Direct we have a "Nintendo Digital Event"; on top of that there are events for the US public at Best Buy stores and potential all-day live booth coverage from those talented individuals from the Treehouse.

There are third parties, too, of course, so we thought we'd put all of the scheduling and details in one convenient place. We'll be hosting all of the important streams with live blogging and immediate reaction here on Nintendo Life, of course.

Let's get to it.


Nintendo Events — 10th June

Nintendo Digital Event — 09:00 Pacific / 12:00 Eastern / 17:00 UK / 18:00 CET — This will be the main event for reveals, in which we expect firm release dates for some current projects and, of course, all-new titles. It will be an hour or less and, we hope, very exciting.

Nintendo Minute Digital Event recap — likely to be 10:00 Pacific / 13:00 Eastern / 18:00 UK / 19:00 CET — immediately following the Digital Event will be a special episode of Nintendo Minute that will recap and expand upon the announcements.

Nintendo Demo — 14:40 Pacific / 17:40 Eastern / 22:40 UK / 23:40 CET — A 20 minute demonstration of, based on the Twitch description, a previously-announced game; alternatively it could be a new game 'announced' in the Digital Event. We'll be watching regardless.

Super Smash Bros. Invitational — 16:00 Pacific / 17:00 Eastern / midnight UK / 01:00 (11th June) CET — Nintendo's main live event, this will be an extravaganza celebrating the franchise in front of 3000 fans, while 16 competitors will do battle in the Wii U version of the game.

Nintendo Events — 11th June

Nintendo Demo — 14:10 Pacific / 17:10 Eastern / 22:10 UK / 23:10 CET — Another 20 minute demonstration on Twitch.

Nintendo Events — 12th June

Nintendo Demo — 12:00 Pacific / 15:00 Eastern / 20:00 UK / 21:00 CET — This one is particularly intriguing, as Twitch is listing this as an "Unannounced Title"; it's a 20 minute demonstration.

Nintendo Demo — 14:40 Pacific / 17:40 Eastern / 22:40 UK / 23:40 CET — A 20 minute demonstration on Twitch.

Ongoing Nintendo Events — all of E3

Nintendo Treehouse — Following the Digital Event the Treehouse team — responsible for localisation of Nintendo products, in particular — will be running a continual live stream (apart from during the Smash Bros. Invitational) showing off games and even revealing details. This unscripted three day event will even have appearances from major figures such as Shigeru Miyamoto.

Best Buy 'Smash-Fest' — A chance for the public to go hands on with the new Super Smash Bros. on Wii U, times are below, and hit up the official website to check your local store:

  • Wednesday, June 11 from 4pm – 9pm
  • Saturday, June 14 from Noon – 5pm

Confirmed Third-Party Nintendo Events — 12th June

SEGA Sonic BOOM! — 15:40 Pacific / 18:40 Eastern / 23:40 UK / 00:40 CET (13th June) — A 20 minute demonstration (on Twitch) of the upcoming Wii U and 3DS exclusive.

Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Super Heroes — 15:20 Pacific / 18:20 Eastern / 23:20 UK / 00:20 (13th June) CET — A 20 minute demonstration (on Twitch) of Disney's multiplatform title.

Others to Watch

Ubisoft Press Conference (9th June) — 15:00 Pacific / 18:00 Eastern / 23:00 UK / midnight CET — The confirmed releases to be shown don't include any Nintendo titles, perhaps leading to some reports of no Nintendo release at all, based on a quote of an anonymous representative. Last year was a bust, however, so this could come up empty, though Just Dance fans may get a taste of the next entry which, we'd imagine, is destined for Nintendo hardware along with all others.

Ubisoft Unannounced Game (10th June) — 11:00 Pacific / 14:00 Eastern / 19:00 UK / 20:00 CET — A 20 minute demonstration (on Twitch) of a previously unannounced title.

Square Enix Unannounced Games (11th June) — 12:00 Pacific / 15:00 Eastern / 20:00 UK / 21:00 CET — Two 20 minute demonstrations back-to-back (on Twitch) of previously unannounced titles.

Square Enix Unannounced Game (12th June) — 12:20 Pacific / 15:20 Eastern / 20:20 UK / 21:20 CET — A 20 minute demonstration (on Twitch) of a previously unannounced title.

505 Games Demo (12th June) — 13:00 Pacific / 16:00 Eastern / 21:00 UK / 22:00 CET — A 20 minute demonstration (on Twitch) from 505 Games.

Warner Bros. Interactive (12th June) — 13:20 Pacific / 16:20 Eastern / 21:20 UK / 22:20 CET — A 20 minute demonstration (on Twitch) of a previously unannounced game.

Ubisoft (12th June) — 14:00 Pacific / 17:00 Eastern / 22:00 UK / 23:00 CET — A 20 minute demonstration (on Twitch) of a previously unannounced game.

Tecmo Koei (12th June) — 15:00 Pacific / 18:00 Eastern / 23:00 UK / midnight CET — A 20 minute demonstration (on Twitch) of a previously unannounced game.

And finally EA, if you really want to watch

EA World Premiere: E3 2014 Preview (9th June) — 12:00 Pacific / 15:00 Eastern / 20:00 UK / 21:00 CET

EA Special Event (9th June) — 13:00 Pacific / 16:00 Eastern / 21:00 UK / 22:00 CET

EA World Premiere: E3 2014 Post show (9th June) — 14:00 Pacific / 17:00 Eastern / 22:00 UK / 23:00 CET

EA (11th June) — 13:00 Pacific / 16:00 Eastern / 21:00 UK / 22:00 CET — A 20 minute demonstration (on Twitch) of a previously unannounced game.


So there you have it. Nintendo's streams will all be on its official E3 website, while the Announcement community on Miiverse is worth watching. All of the 20 minute demonstrations will be on Twitch, meanwhile.

Of course, we'll be hosting all of the interesting streams as they happen and live blogging the excitement here at Nintendo Life, along with all the news and reaction that you could hope to enjoy.

What will you be watching this E3?

Sponsored links by Taboola

From the web