Well, it's been quite a day for Nintendo fans, with an information drop for Pokémon Sun and Moon being accompanied by confirmation of expanded plans for E3. The Legend of Zelda on Wii U is still the only confirmed game that'll be playable, but more importantly for those watching at home there'll be events covering all three days of the expo that can be viewed online.

So, what's coming? Below is the breakdown from our E3 Guide.


Nintendo Treehouse and Developer Broadcast - 14th June at 9am Pacific / noon Eastern / 5pm UK / 6pm CET

The main show from our perspective, which promises "the world's first in-depth look at the game [Legend of Zelda on Wii U], which will also include commentaries by Nintendo developers... game coverage, behind-the-scenes info and plenty of fun." Expected to run all day, this will be a substantial look at the hyped title, and considering how little has been seen so far it promises to be a blowout day for fans. We can anticipate a good look at the world, along with a sense of the innovations and new direction that have been promised by Eiji Aonuma. With this being the franchises' 30th Anniversary year and with the expo floor demos (there are two) adding up to between 60-90 minutes of gaming, it'll be an intriguing watch.

In addition, Pokémon Sun and Moon has been confirmed for an appearance at the start of this broadcast, in which new details will be shared.

Nintendo Treehouse and Pokémon Go Q & A - 15th June at 10am Pacific / 1pm Eastern / 6pm UK / 7pm CET

Starting with the Pokémon Go Q & A, we're then going to see the Treehouse team play more upcoming titles. Those confirmed by Nintendo are Monster Hunter Generations, Dragon Quest VII: Fragments of the Forgotten Past and Tokyo Mirage Sessions #FE.

E3 2016 Pokémon Special - 16th June at 7am Pacific / 10am Eastern / 3pm UK / 4pm CET

An exciting development this will be focused entirely on Pokémon, though beyond that details are slim.


It's unclear whether Nintendo always had these expanded plans in the locker or whether some elements have been brought forward and created as a response to a negative reaction to its initial announcements. We may never know, but in any case we'll have live streams on all three E3 days; it's still not quite as much as we're accustomed to, but it's certainly an improvement on what was previously expected.

Back when the original E3 announcement was made we asked you what you thought, and many were unhappy at the prospect of one day of streaming focused on a single game. When we asked whether Nintendo should show more games 64% of you said "definitely, it absolutely MUST do this". On that score it should be exciting to see more of Pokémon Sun & Moon along with others, so surely the vibes around Nintendo's E3 are now far happier.

Well, let's find out. Let us know what you think of Nintendo's newly extended E3 plans in the polls and comments below - has the hype increased?

Which part of Nintendo's E3 are you most excited about?
What's your opinion of Nintendo's expanded E3 plans?

Further Reading: