Nintendo has confirmed that demo sessions for its forthcoming Wii U shooter Splatoon will be held later this month.

The sessions - which are dubbed "Global Testfire" - last for an hour each and are open to all Wii U owners, regardless of region. A downloadable demo version of the game will be made available today for use in these sessions.

The dates and times are:

  • May 8th 8PM-9PM (PT) / 4AM-5AM (BST - 9th May)
  • May 9th 4AM-5AM (PT) / 12PM-1PM (BST) and then Noon-1PM (PT) / 8PM-9PM (BST)

Nintendo staffers from the "Squid research lab" will be joining these sessions, and you'll be able to identify them from their white lab coats.