Nintendo Direct Confirmed For 17th May, Covering Summer Titles on Wii U and 3DS

Set hype mode to stunned

Nintendo likes to keep us on our toes, as it's just announced that there'll be a Nintendo Direct broadcast on 17th May, giving us the usual 24 hours of notice. In both North America and Europe it'll cover Spring and Summer releases, with Nintendo UK emphasizing a "focus" on Wii U games, and Nintendo of America promising updates on upcoming releases on both Wii U and 3DS.

As for the all-important times, it'll all be happening at 3pm UK time / 4pm European time / 10am Eastern and 7am Pacific.

Of particular interest is confirmation — from Nintendo of Europe — that there'll be a Nintendo Direct focused on Wii U titles due "this Autumn and beyond...around E3 time in June"; Nintendo of America promises a similar broadcast "before the start of E3 2013". That's the first official acknowledgement that we'll have something to look forward to around the time of the world-famous expo.

So what will be revealed tomorrow? We suspect that, as the focus is on the Summer period, it'll all be about release dates. Perhaps if we're lucky undated titles like The Wonderful 101 and Wii Fit U will be pinned down, but we'll just have to wait and see.

As always, you'll be able to watch and see it all happen right here on Nintendo Life, along with our live text mutterings, before we dive into reporting every little reveal from the broadcasts. While we look forward to that, let's speculate wildly on what will happen in the comments below.