Expect a 'Shocking' New Pokémon Project on 26th August

Watch it live on Niconico

In the midst of the hype and stream of speculation over Pokémon Omega Ruby & Alpha Sapphire, The Pokémon Company has only fed the fire by announcing that its fans should expect a 'shocking' new project next week.

Given that specific use of the word 'shocking' it would not perhaps be too presumptuous to assume that the franchise's flagship monster Pikachu is involved in some way. The yellow peril has played host to a number of games in the past such as Hey You, Pikachu on the N64, Pokémon Channel on the GameCube, and even its own virtual pet console, the aptly named Pokémon Pikachu.

Another possibility is that it may finally be the announcement of a supposed Wii U game that was shown at the end of a video that showed the time line of all main series Pokémon games to promote Pokémon X & Y. Little is known about the game, but the name 'Pokkén Fighters' was trademarked last year causing many fans to reach the conclusion that it is a fighting game for the Wii U with Pokémon as its theme. Of course there's no guarantee that the development will even be a game given Pokémon's numerous other formats.

The announcement will be made available to view on Niconico at 6am Pacific / 9am Eastern / 2pm UK and 3pm CET — 26th August — on this page where hopefully many of these questions will be answered.

Are you excited for this latest development?

[via vg247.com]

Sponsored links by Taboola

From the web