Wave4 Amiibo

During its most recent Nintendo Direct broadcast Nintendo confirmed more Super Smash Bros. amiibo toys that are due in the coming months. It also confirmed a 29th May release date for wave 4, which will have grabbed the interest of keen collectors. Of course, getting hold of one of these at the right price from a retailer is a challenge, so ahead of pre-orders launching we've compiled the following information from press releases, with a notable hat-tip to amiibo Inquirer for extra information.

In case you'd forgotten, wave 4 consists of Charizard, Pac-Man, Wario, Jigglypuff, Greninja, Robin, Lucina and Ness - all are due on 29th May in North America. There are key things to know, however.

Retailer Exclusives

Three retailers have confirmed amiibo toys exclusive to their stores and websites, these are:

  • GameStop - Ness
  • Toys 'R' Us - Greninja
  • Target - Jigglypuff

Pre-order Opening Times

These retailers are all in different positions in terms of when they're opening pre-orders. Details below:

GameStop - Opening pre-orders at noon Pacific / 3pm Eastern today (2nd April)

TRU92214">Toys 'R' Us - Opening pre-orders on 3rd April; we suggest checking at 9pm Pacific (2nd April) / midnight Eastern. Also running a buy one get 40% off another on all amiibo that aren't part of the new wave.

Target - Unfortunately, this one's typically messy. The link we've given here shows a pre-order button, but attempts to pre-order fail with one of two error messages.


Will you be trying your luck at getting some of these amiibo? Let us know.