Extended Nintendo Network System Maintenance Scheduled for 9th December

3DS system update and Miiverse speculation ahoy!

What do you get when you combine a major 3DS system update loosely pegged for December with a lengthy session of system maintenance on the Nintendo Network? Speculation, that's what! Nintendo's network status pages for North America and Europe are showing aligned and extended maintenance scheduled for early next week. Mario needs time to prepare his tools for the job.

The date, details and affected services are below:

From Monday 9th December 9:00 AM Pacific / 12pm Eastern / 5pm UK / 6pm CET to Monday 9th December 8:00 PM Pacific / 11pm Eastern / 4am UK (10th December) / 5am CET (10th December)

Affected Services:
Wii U

  • Nintendo eShop
    Nintendo 3DS
  • Nintendo eShop
    Wii
  • Wii Shopping Channel
    Nintendo DS
  • Nintendo DSi Shop

Of course, the fact that wider Nintendo Network performance isn't listed causes doubts, while the presence of the Wii and DSi platforms raises the possibility that this isn't a precursor to the promised 3DS update — that update, if you've forgotten, will include 3DS Nintendo Network ID support, shared eShop balances, and a Miiverse app for the portable.

But still, that's 11 hours of maintenance that will cause intermittent downtime, so we'd like to think that Nintendo will be doing something interesting. Feel free to speculate wildly in the comments below.

[via nintendo.com, nintendo.co.jp]

Sponsored links by Taboola

From the web