Extended Nintendo Network and Miiverse Maintenance Confirmed for 30th September

Will affect online play and leaderboards as well as the bespoke network

The Nintendo Network and Miiverse have a fairly solid track record in minimising downtime, but some upcoming maintenance will take the service down for a fairly extended period; there's some loose speculation on the web that this could be related to a potential Wii U update, though nothing has been announced by Nintendo.

In terms of the downtime for Nintendo Network and Miiverse services, it's a total of nine hours simultaneously across different regions. Below are the details.

From Monday 30th September 2013 8am Pacific Time / 11:00am Eastern / 4pm UK time to Monday 30th September 5pm Pacific Time / 8pm Eastern / 1am 1st October UK.

Affected Services:

Wii U

  • Online Play, Rankings, etc.

Nintendo 3DS

  • Online Play, Rankings, etc.

Those details are from Nintendo's official websites, while there's also a Miiverse notification to advise that private messages, friend requests and blocked user lists will be unavailable on the platform in that time.

There is always a standard four hours of downtime on a Monday with Miiverse (it's 8pm to 12am in the UK) on a weekly basis, but this time around the impact is longer and across more services. As mentioned above, there is speculation that this extended maintenance is laying the groundwork for the next Wii U system update, but not 3DS, but those are simply rumours at this point.

With a Wii U system update due at any time after it was pushed from 'Summer 2013', what would you like to see if this maintenance does pave the way for its arrival? Let us know in the comments below.

[via nintendo.com, miiverse.nintendo.net]

Sponsored links by Taboola

From the web