Play: Mario Kart 8 With Nintendo Life in a 10 Hour Community Tournament

Bring it on

As you may have seen recently, we've opened the round-the-clock Nintendo Life GP in Wii U racer Mario Kart 8, and since its launch two days ago hundreds of players have jumped in for some races. That's a rolling tournament with no real rules or winners, it's just for fun. We've decided that an old-fashioned Community session is needed, however, and an event where we can declare a winner afterwards.

So on Friday 6th June we'll open the NLife Community GP for just 10 hours. We'll be treating it as a community get together at 1pm Pacific / 4pm Eastern / 9pm UK / 10pm CET, with plenty of time for everyone to take part and exchange banter in the comments. The tournament will have a limit of 32 races per player, which is a few hours of racing, so it won't be entirely a case of the winner being whoever hangs around the longest. The only other setting that will be applied by default is Hard CPU players to fill out rooms, but only when necessary.

You get to choose key details in the poll below, however, and we'll take the results prior to posting the live community event page.

Which Mario Kart 8 online mode do you want to play? (217 votes)

50cc Grand Prix

3%

100cc Grand Prix

16%

150cc Grand Prix

71%

Mirror Grand Prix

7%

Battle

2%

Please login to vote in this poll.

Which items should be available? (207 votes)

All items

65%

Shells only

3%

Bananas only

1%

Mushrooms only

2%

Bob-ombs only

2%

No items

4%

No items or coins

1%

Frantic mode (more aggressive items)

20%

Please login to vote in this poll.

Which vehicles should be available? (212 votes)

All vehicles

84%

Karts only

14%

Bikes only

2%

Please login to vote in this poll.

The first of many competitive tournaments, we hope. Cast your votes and save a slot in your diary, while you can always practice in the Nintendo Life GP, which can be found under that name or code 6347-6219-4703.

Check back tomorrow for the confirmed Community GP details, and we'll see you on the track.

Sponsored links by Taboola

From the web