Oops

Given how much content there is to discover in The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild it's likely that many of you playing it right now are still on your first play through. However, if you do decide that you want to start over and experience the whole thing a second time - but want to retain your existing save data - then you'll have to set up an entirely new user account on your Nintendo Switch as it has recently been confirmed that there's only one data slot per user.

If you have multiple users set up on your Switch console then this isn't a massive issue. Say you want to start a new game for a family member - the sensible thing to do is simply create them as a user on the console. After all, when you launch a game it prompts you to select the user who is playing it, so it's not like it's a hidden feature.

However, for those of you who don't use multiple accounts, consider yourself warned - if for whatever reason you decide to select "New Game" (perhaps to show a friend what the start of the adventure looks like) and ignore the subsequent on-screen warning then you will lose your existing progress - and if you've clocked up as many hours as we have, that's a nightmare scenario worthy of Calamity Ganon himself.

[via kotaku.com]