Earthbound Creator, Shigesato Itoi, Gearing Up to Play SNES Classic in Live Stream

Watch and be jealous of Japanese gamers

Earthbound — or Mother 2: Revenge of Gyiygas in Japan — is one of those titles that's permanently on the agenda for some retro gamers; its absence in the West is a continual source of disappointment. With apparent licensing issues keeping the critically acclaimed classic off the Wii Virtual Console, the news that this title is part of the Wii U Virtual Console Famicom Anniversary in Japan has been a recent reminder of this frustrating scenario.

While a Western release is still off the table, big fans of the series may want to take the chance to check out an upcoming video stream where Earthbound's creator, Shigesato Itoi, will play through the game himself for your entertainment. It'll all be in Japanese, but that shouldn't stop anyone from watching — the live stream will take place on Friday 22nd March at 8pm Japanese time; that's 11am UK time, noon in Central Europe, and 7am Eastern or 4am Pacific Time.

It'll be even better if you speak Japanese, of course, but in any case it may be worth checking out for Earthbound-starved fans. Let us know if you'll be tuning in.


Sponsored links by Taboola

From the web