If you've been playing Pokémon GO a lot then evolving your Pokémon will surely be a hot topic right now. To establish dominance over the game's many gyms you need to make sure you have the most powerful monsters possible, and you can only do that by evolving them into stronger forms - and of all of the Pokémon currently featured in the game, Eevee's evolutions have attracted the most attention. 

In the "classic" Pokémon outings, this particular monster is able to evolve into different types depending on what special items you have, its happiness level, the moves it has unlocked and the time of day. Thankfully you don't have to jump through those kind of hoops in Pokémon GO.

Eevee names to evolve Eevee into Umbreon, Espeon, Vaporeon, Jolteon, and Flareon

Evolving Eevee using the required 25 Eevee candy will turn it into one of three types at random. However, it has been discovered that you can control which type it turns into by renaming the monster beforehand:

  • "Sakura" to evolve into Psychic-type Espeon
  • "Tamao" to evolve into Dark-type Umbreon
  • "Rainer" to evolve into water type Vaporeon
  • "Sparky" to evolve into lightning type Jolteon
  • "Pyro" to evolve into fire type Flareon

Dedicated fans of Pokémon will know that these names have special significance. In episode 40 of the original series, these "Eevee brothers" meet with Ash and the gang:

There are some caveats here. Some players have reported that this only works the first time you evolve an Eevee, and others have claimed that it hasn't worked for them personally - possibly due to server issues.

How to evolve two Umbreons and Espeons

Users on Reddit have discovered a possible second method of evolving Eevee into Umbreon and Espeon. It's surprisingly simple as well – all you have to do is walk Eevee 10km and then evolve it at night to unlock Umbreon, and during the day for Espeon.

The best part about this particular trick, is that you can evolve Eevee into Umbreon and Espeon using this method even if you already have an Umbreon or Espeon from using the naming trick.

What's not clear though, is whether or not you can use this trick multiple times.

Eevee names to evolve Eevee into Leafeon, Glaceon, and Sylveon from Gen 3 onwards

Beyond these three evolutions, Eevee's other possible types - Leafeon, Glaceon and Sylveon - aren't featured in the game as yet. We'll let you know the Eevee evolution names for gen 3 onwards as soon as we know them.

[via reddit.com]