News Article

Live: Nintendo Life Plays Mario Kart 8 on Twitch

Posted by Thomas Whitehead

Aiming for the podium

It's that time again, dear readers, for us to be humiliated by far faster racers by playing Mario Kart 8 live on Twitch. Anthony Dickens and Tom Whitehead will be joining in (12 races) for a tournament we're currently running — with prizes courtesy of Official Nintendo UK Online Store — in the UK. Once we've completed a run in that contest we'll hop onto the rolling Nintendo Life GP — which is always on the go — to take on all-comers.

The live stream will run from noon Pacific / 3pm Eastern / 8pm UK / 9pm Pacific until 2pm Pacific / 5pm Eastern / 10pm UK / 11pm CET. We'll likely be around 45 minutes in the UK tournament, before we hop over to the worldwide GP. If you want to do some multi-tasking and join in with our global GP as we race, the code for that tournament is 6347-6219-4703 — it's 150cc with no restrictions, so have fun!

You can watch the broadcast below or, if you want to join in with some live chat, head on over to our Twitch channel.

Get the Flash Player to see this player.

Sponsored links by Taboola

More Stories

Game Screenshots

User Comments (12)

ScorpionMG

#2

ScorpionMG said:

123 points, played like crap, but i have to say i was disapointed with the hard cpu, it felt like frantic mode on mkw sometimes, i kept getting hit out of nowhere with green shells, bombs and all sorts of things, i will make a video to show this.

Yoshi3DS

#3

Yoshi3DS said:

rage quit after only 3 races since i knew i needed to win every race to win a prize, and on the third race the stupid coin item came up after I'd blocked a blue shell! Sadly I don't think any fair racers will actually win, with so many people jumping in/out of games!

Moose_4

#4

Moose_4 said:

@ScorpionMG i got 135, i know what you mean with the hard CPU. There were quite afew races with alot of CPU players and i got blue shelled 5 secs from finish line.

rjejr

#5

rjejr said:

I'm going to go play 4 player offline now w/ my wife and kids and no CPUs. Family fun is better when it's fun -)

Squashy

#6

Squashy said:

Hi guys having fun racing with you! I just got a communication error but should be back next race

Panamae

#10

Panamae said:

Pointless tournament overall. The only way to get to the top is to win every single race (like 3 blatant cheaters have), so there was no point in competing once you came 2nd even once.

eltomo

#11

eltomo said:

I got 80 points in the end... It was fun playing people who are from the site, good community fun. Trying to get in as much chat as possible before the race!

Least favourite part was being targeted by a blue shell on the last bend, when I was in second place, that really annoyed me! Ended the race 7th...

Leave A Comment

Hold on there, you need to login to post a comment...