Play: We'll Be Doing The Twitch Thing With Mario Kart Wii Online Multiplayer

Surely nothing can go wrong...

Twitch is all the rage, it seems, with the live streaming service used to watch gamers tackle a variety of titles and even team up in their thousands to play Pokémon. It's a social phenomenon in gaming.

Aside from some retro titles being chaotically played by thousands of gamers at once, however, not much love is shown to Nintendo games on the service. It doesn't help that it's relatively easy to stream footage from a PC or dedicated apps on PS4 and Xbox One, but is actually a minor nuisance on Nintendo hardware. Nevertheless, we want to give it a go, and plan to run regular live streams of Nintendo goodness on our own shiny new channel — starting this week.

We're going last-gen, first-off, and preparing ourselves for a teary farewell to Mario Kart Wii. The game's going nowhere, of course, but online multiplayer will cease to be on 20th May, leaving us with just one more month of Wii Wheel throwing fury as that crazy-good racer from Japan red shells us on the finishing straight. We also have Mario Kart 8 coming on 30th May, too, so it's time for a final fling with the game that made online MK races a staple of our gaming diet.

It'll all be happening at 5pm UK time / 6pm CET / noon Eastern / 9am Pacific on Tuesday 15th April, and will last about an hour. We'll perhaps have a camera pointed at those playing (probably Tom and Ant) or maybe not, depending on our technical proficiency on the day. We will be playing online, so the article hosting the stream (though it'll also be on the channel linked above) will include our Mario Kart Wii Friend Code, and if enough of you post your codes in the comments we may even get a Friends race going, in which you can humiliate us in front of all that are watching.

We hope you'll join us, and in the meantime you can use the comments below to suggest other games you want to see, focusing on Wii U and Wii. Do you want more online multiplayer action, some Let's Plays, and if so what games? Let us know.

Sponsored links by Taboola

From the web