Nintendo's share price has risen following the news that it will reveal its new NX console later today. Shares jumped as much as 4.6 percent at midday in Tokyo, which added more than $1 billion in market value.

The company's stock is up more than 50 percent this year, something which is also partly thanks to its move into smartphone gaming. Super Mario Run - the firm's biggest smartphone title yet - is due out in December and already has more than 20 million registration sign-ups on iOS.

840x-1.png

The NX reveal will bring to an end months of speculation and rumours relating to the form factor of the new console. A report in July hinted that it would be a hybrid system with detachable controllers, and comments from Pokémon Company president Tsunekazu Ishihara suggest that it will blur the line between home console and handheld.

Today's announcement takes place at 7am Pacific / 10am Eastern / 3pm UK / 4pm CET and will last for around 3 minutes.

[via bloomberg.com]