Miitopia is getting its own Japanese Nintendo Direct this weekend, continuing the strange path to release for the Mii-centric 3DS title. As for a Western arrival, there's been no solid indication of that happening any time soon.

In any case, a preview download of the game is on the Japanese 3DS eShop, and NintenDaan has shared some neat footage. As you can see it shares plenty of characteristics with Tomodachi Life, but has more fantastical storytelling and gameplay elements to consider.

It looks rather charming, all told. We'll see more of it in the live broadcast on 5th November at 4am Pacific / 7am Eastern / 11am UK / noon CET.

[via youtube.com]