Splatoon 3 Deep Cut
Image: Nintendo

Splatfests make their grand and expected return in Splatoon 3. But all things come in trios in this third sentry, and to mix up the inkfest a bit more, you'll get to pick from not two, but three teams.

This Splatoon mainstay lets you pick a side and take part in multiple online battles throughout the event. In Splatoon 3, these take place over a few days, after which the winning team is revealed.

In this guide, we'll tell you when the next Splatfest is taking place, as well as share the results of previous Splatfests.

Splatoon 3 Splatfest - When is the next Splatfest?

Here is when the next Splatfest is taking place for each Splatfest region (thanks to Perfectly Nintendo for tracking these times!)

The halftime report will take place 24-hours after the start time in each region.

Splatoon 3 Splatfest
Image: Nintendo

The Americas, Australia, New Zealand

  • North America - 23rd September 2022, 5pm PST / 8pm EST to 25th September 2022, 5pm PST / 8pm EST
  • Australia - 24th September 2022, 10am AEST to 26th September 2022, 10am AEST
  • New Zealand - 24th September 2022, 12pm NZST to 26th September 2022, 12pm NZST

Europe

  • UK - 24th September 2022, 1am BST to 26th September 2022, 1am BST
  • Europe - 24th September 2022, 2am CEST to 26th September 2022, 1am CEST

Japan

  • Japan - 24th September 2022, 9am JST to 26th September 2022, 9am JST

Splatoon 3 Splatfest - What is the next Splatfest vote?

Splatoon 3 Deserted Island Splatfest Vote
Image: Nintendo / @SplatoonNA

The next Splatfest vote is "What would you bring to a deserted island?"

You can vote for either Gear, Grub, or Fun.

Splatoon 3 Splatfest - Previous Splatfest results

Here are the results of the previous Splatfests for Splatoon 3, by region:

Splatfest Winner (NA, AU, NZ) Winner (Europe) Winner (JP)
"What would you bring to a deserted island? Gear, Grub, or Fun?" TBA TBA TBA
Splatfest World Premiere "Which one’s the best? Rock vs Paper vs Scissors!" Rock Rock Rock

We'll update this list with every new Splatfest winner for each region!

Splatoon 3 Splatfest - FAQs

What is a Splatfest?

Splatoon 3 Deep Cut
Image: Nintendo

A Splatfest takes place every few weeks in-game and is a huge online event where players join one of three teams to try and win online battles over the course of a few days.

For the first half of a normal Splatfest, you'll be duking it out in 4v4 Turf Wars. The goal here is simple — whichever team covers the most turf in their colour ink is declared the winner. Then, after the Halftime Report, the team in the lead will randomly be put up against the two trailing teams in a 4v2v2 Tricolor Turf War battle.

How do I pick my Splatfest team?

You can vote for your team in the days leading up to the Splatfest during the Splatfest Sneak Peek.

To pick your team, head to the main square in Splatsville. There, you should spot a yellow-ish-coloured tent with t-shirts hanging out front, paper lanterns on either side and an electronic billboard with all three teams to the right.

Examine the screen by pressing 'A', and then select your team. You'll then get to represent your team with a rather fetching t-shirt.

What is a Tricolor Turf War?

Splatoon 3 Tricolor Turf War
Image: Nintendo

Tricolor Turf War is a brand new mode in Splatoon 3 that's exclusive to Splatfests.

Available to take part in following the Halftime Report, Tricolor Turf War is a 4v2v2 event. The team that is in the lead in the Splatfest will make up the larger defending team, while the two trailing teams will only have two members each.

When playing a Splatfest, teams may be randomly entered into a Tricolor Turf War while looking for matches. The flanking teams — the teams of two — should aim to get the Ultra Signal, while the larger team should focus on defending the Signal.

As with other modes, the team that's inked the most amount of ground is the winner.

What are conch shells?

Conch shells can be collected during the Splatfest Sneak Peek and the Splatfest itself. This currency can contribute to your team's score during the event.

You can earn these by taking part in normal online matches to increase your catalog level, including both Salmon Run and Turf War.

Conch shells can also be spent at the Shell-Out Machine during the Splatfest, which is like a big gachapon machine that gives your random rewards. You can find this in the multiplayer lobby.


That's it for our Splatfest guide! We'll keep this updated with every new Splatfest announcement and keep track of the winners for you.

For more on Splatoon 3, check out our Tips, Tricks, And Hints guide packed full of fresh advice on how to splat with the best of them. We also have a Weapon List With The Best Pick For Every Weapon Type, All Sunken Scroll Locations, a Full List Of Splatoon 3 amiibo Unlocks And Rewards, and Every New And Returning Turf War Stage in the game, plus info on How To Unlock Alterna Logs and How To Transfer Your Splatoon 2 Save Data, if that's causing you trouble.

Elsewhere, find out Where To Buy The Splatoon 3 Nintendo Switch OLED Model Console And Pro Controller, and if you haven't picked up the game itself, you can check out our review along with the best deals and find out Where To Buy Splatoon 3 On Nintendo Switch.