Dr Nabbit

Dr. Nabbit has been officially unveiled as the next character to arrive in Dr. Mario World (and before you ask, no, this isn't an April Fools' joke).

Nintendo's smartphone game, which will actually reach its first anniversary this summer, will receive the new character from 2nd April at 5pm JST (thanks, Japanese Nintendo). That means that players around the world should expect it to go live at 1am PT / 4am ET / 9am BST / 10am CET the following morning.

Dr. Nabbit will be released alongside new events and new stages, which you can see in the image below. The New Super Mario Bros. U enemy might seem like an odd pick for a doctor at first, but the game also has the likes of Dr. Luma, Dr. Baby Daisy, and Dr. Fire Rosalina, so what do we know? Plus, Nabbit's pretty cool, so we won't hear a bad word said about him.

Dr. Mario World Stagesvia Japanese Nintendo

Have you been keeping up with Dr. Mario World since it launched last summer? Let us know with a comment below.

[source japanesenintendo.com]