The Nintendo World Championships 2017 aren't far away; as was the case with the 2015 event qualification has been very limited and low key, but the actual finals could nevertheless be good fun.

It's all going down on 7th October at 2pm Pacific / 5pm Eastern / 10pm UK / 11pm CEST, and those in New York can head to the Manhattan Center’s Grand Ballroom at 9am local time on that day to try and nab free tickets to watch.

A new video confirms plenty of details including guest competitors; it'll be hosted Andrea Rene with play-calls by Jordan Kent. Metroid: Samus Returns is also confirmed as one of the games to feature - perhaps it'll be a speedrun or boss challenge.

As always we'll be live streaming and blogging the Championships here on the site - see you then!

[via nwc.nintendo.com]