News Article

2014 Pokémon World Championships Live Broadcast Schedule and Details Confirmed

Posted by Thomas Whitehead

Champions will be crowned between 16-17 August

The Pokémon Company recently joined Nintendo in taking to Twitch for extensive live coverage of a major event, streaming plenty of action from the US National Championships. It wasn't without problems or immune to criticism, but was certainly a step in the right direction; details for the main event's broadcast, the 2014 Pokémon World Championships, have now been confirmed.

Taking place in Washington, DC, the following schedule has been given, and we've thrown in some extra regional times for convenience.

Saturday, August 16

6am / Pacific / 9am EST / 2pm UK / 3pm CET — Opening Ceremony
6:30am Pacific / 9:30am EST / 2:30pm UK / 3:30pm CET until 2pm Pacific / 5pm EST / 10pm UK / 11pm CET — Pokémon Video Game Streaming
2pm Pacific / 5pm EST / 10pm UK / 11pm CET until 6pm Pacific / 9pm EST / 2am UK / 3am CET — Pokémon TCG Streaming

Sunday, August 17

6am / Pacific / 9am EST / 2pm UK / 3pm CET — TCG Masters top 4
7am Pacific / 10am EST / 3pm UK / 4pm CET until 12pm Pacific / 3pm EST / 8pm UK / 9pm CET — Pokémon TCG Finals (Junior, Senior, and Masters Divisions)
12pm Pacific / 3pm EST / 8pm UK / 9pm CET until 3pm Pacific / 6pm EST / 11pm UK / midnight CET — Pokémon Video Game Finals (Junior, Senior, and Masters Divisions)
3pm Pacific / 6pm EST / 11pm UK / midnight CET — Closing Ceremony

The press release states that "Pokémon TCG and video game players from more than 30 countries will be battling for scholarships, prizes, and the title of Pokémon World Champion", which is an impressive field. An official website hub has been launched, it'll all be broadcast on the Pokémon Twitch channel and here on Nintendo Life, too. An interesting extra bit of information (via Serebii) is that those in attendance will be able to "download a special Level 50 Aegislash with the moves Wide Guard, King's Shield, Shadow Ball & Flash Cannon" — that, like the game tournament, will naturally be for Pokémon X & Y.

Will you be tuning in to watch the World Championships?

Sponsored links by Taboola

More Stories

Game Screenshots

User Comments (7)

IceClimbers

#7

IceClimbers said:

Also according to Serebii, the special Pokeball Pattern Vivillon will be distributed at Gamescom from August 14th-17th. Shigeki Morimoto will be present on the 14th to sign autographs and there will be a special video message from Junichi Masuda regarding Omega Ruby & Alpha Sapphire, and there will be a special Pokemon Battle Competition where you can win a copy of ORAS.

Leave A Comment

Hold on there, you need to login to post a comment...