Red Bull Radio has today announced the return of Diggin' in the Carts - a show which examines the music, creators, legacy and global impact of video game music. Several well-established guests are set to make an appearance, including none other than Donkey Kong Country composer, David Wise.

Hosted by Nick Dwyer, this series has already looked into classic gaming tunes from 8-bit to 64-bit and beyond - we recently sat down with Dwyer to discuss how the show was conceived if you'd like to know more. This return, which will be the third series of the show, is set to expand upon the areas already explored, shining a light on the games, creators, composers, sounds, and systems from the UK, US, Europe and more.

Starting today, and continuing every Thursday through 15th November, the series contains eight, two-hour-long episodes featuring educational sections on game composers, interviews with video game music luminaries, features on music and top tracks, as well as guests hosts who will select their favourite moments from video game music history. Episode one airs on 27th September at 7pm ET (4pm PT / the following day at midnight BST / 1am CEST) and you'll be able to catch the whole series at Red Bull Radio's website.

That first episode will feature Atari founder and Pong producer Nolan Bushnell, a primer on Commodore Amiga soundtracks, the aforementioned David Wise, and Fool’s Gold Records affiliate Nightwave as a guest host. The rest of the series features a similarly stellar lineup - including the composer of Minecraft and various Commodore 64 music geniuses such as Martin Galway and Marco Passarani to name just a few - so make sure to check back every Thursday at the same time each week if you're interested.

Are you into your video game music? Let us know if you'll be tuning in with a comment below.