Dragon Quest XI© Square Enix

Later this week, Square Enix is celebrating Dragon Quest's 35th anniversary with a special live stream.

There's expected to be at least some news about Dragon Quest XII, and now, series creator Yuji Horii has shared his own message on Twitter ahead of the event - informing fans to get ready to hear more about "that" game.

Here's the full translation, courtesy of Siliconera:

"This Thursday, Dragon Quest celebrates its 35th Anniversary. As you may know, we have a special 35th Anniversary Broadcast scheduled for then. In gratitude for all your support so far, we’ll have plenty to announce. And of course, we’ll have more on that game as well… Please look forward to it, everyone!"

While that game could easily be anything related to Dragon Quest, given the timing of this event, it seems highly likely we'll finally be learning about the next mainline entry in the long-running JRPG series.

Yuji Horii has already been confirmed for the broadcast, where he'll be talking about the "new line-up". Horii previously revealed the new entry in the series had been in development since 2019.

This anniversary live stream will take place on 27th May at 4am UK / 5am CEST and 8pm Pacific / 11pm Eastern on 26th May. Will you be tuning in? Leave a comment down below.

[source twitter.com, via siliconera.com]