Screen Shot 2017-10-04 at 13.55.49.png
Image: Vegas Mike

Video game battle themes are normally strident and forceful, creating tension at moments in a game when rapid responses and cunning reflexes are required.

However, Japanese music act Gentle Love - which consists of Metal Gear Solid composer Norihiko Hibino (saxophone) and Etrian Odyssey performer AYAKI (piano) - have harnessed some of the most famous battle tunes in video gaming history (plus one from 1986's legendary Transformers: The Movie) for their next Prescription for Sleep album. In case you didn't know, these are selections of video game music designed to help you sleep, relax or study to.

Prescription for Sleep: Fight for Your Dreams is the sixth album in the series and we're delighted to exclusively bring you a little taster of what it includes: the iconic Mother Brain battle theme from Super Metroid presented in a way you're unlikely to have heard before.

Here's how it sounds in the game:

And here's Gentle Love's take:

The full track listing is as follows:

  • Veiled in Black (Final Fantasy XV)
  • Boss (Mega Man 2)
  • Battle with the Four Fiends (Final Fantasy IV)
  • People Imprisoned by Destiny (Chrono Cross)
  • Mini-Boss (Yoshi's Island)
  • Autobot-Decepticon Battle (Transformers: The Movie)
  • Beasts as Black as Night (Ys III)
  • Ornstein & Smough (Dark Souls)
  • Intolerance (Raystorm)
  • Mother Brain (Super Metroid)
  • In a Better Place (Original)

If you like what you hear - and let's be honest, what's not to like - then you can pre-order the album ahead of its October 10th release date here.