Update: We'd just like to clarify that AYAKI was a piano performer on Etrian Odyssey and PersonaQ, and not the composer, as we originally indicated.

Original story: The soundtrack to SNES RPG Secret of Mana is regarded as one of the finest of the 16-bit era, with Hiroki Kikuta's soothing compositions matching the fantasy setting perfectly.

The game's stellar music has been chosen as the focal point for the next Prescription for Sleep: Game Music Lullabies album. The series - which takes famous video game songs and rearranges them to create a soothing and relaxing aural experience - has spanned two albums so far, with each comprised of songs from multiple titles, including Super Mario 64, Donkey Kong Country and Chrono Trigger.

This new selection of tracks has been arranged and performed by GENTLE LOVE, a duo comprised of saxophonist Norihiko Hibino (Metal Gear Solid, Bayonetta) and pianist AYAKI (Etrian Odyssey, PersonaQ).

As if this concept wasn't tempting enough already, if you purchase the album via LOUDR, you'll also get a free copy of GENTLE LOVE's tribute to late Nintendo President and CEO Satoru Iwata, entitled Prescription for Peace: A Tribute to the Departed. There's also the chance to bundle the new album with previous offerings in the series.

Here's some more info from the press release:

Key themes from Secret of Mana were selected for inclusion on Prescription for Sleep: Lullabies of Mana to please both fans and newcomers alike, ordered to loosely tell the story of the game. Listeners will appreciate the majestic opening theme ("Angel's Fear") along with the vibrant underworld ("Into the Thick of It"), the jubilant town ("The Color of the Summer Sky"), the scathing desert ("Secret of the Arid Sands"), the playful forest ("What The Forest Taught Me"), the ominous second flight theme ("A Dark Star"), the emotional scaling of the final fortress ("Leave Time For Love"), and the heartwrenching ending ("Now Flightless Wings"). GENTLE LOVE has additionally recorded an original composition inspired by the Mana universe titled "Memories of Mana" which encompasses the themes of healing and Mother Earth that are featured prominently throughout Secret of Mana. The full track list is as follows:

01. Angel's Fear (Opening)
02. A Phantom... and Rose... (Ruins)
03. Into the Thick of It (Dungeon)
04. The Color of the Summer Sky (Town)
05. Secret of the Arid Sands (Desert)
06. What The Forest Taught Me (Forest)
07. Spirit of the Night (Sad Theme)
08. Calm Before The Storm (Victory)
09. A Dark Star (Flight)
10. Leave Time For Love (Final Dungeon)
11. Now Flightless Wings (Ending)
12. Memories of Mana (Original)

"Our first two Prescription for Sleep albums featured a variety of tracks from across all videogames, and were a great introduction to our healing game music concept," comments Scarlet Moon Records Producer Jayson Napolitano. "But with the third album, I wanted to try something different. I had been constantly tempted to pick tracks from Secret of Mana for our first two compilations, mainly because the music is so soothing in its original form, so I thought the next evolution of the series would be an entire album dedicated to one game. I couldn't think of a title whose imagery and themes align more with what GENTLE LOVE is trying to accomplish, and having spent my childhood playing this game and humming the soundtrack, it's a real treat for me to listen to Prescriptin for Sleep: Lullabies of Mana each and every time. I hope it resonates with fans of Secret of Mana and inspires those who haven't played it to go back and do so!"