Back to the old-school

It's not often you see video game soundtracks released on vinyl records, especially in this digital age where even CDs are slowly becoming obsolete.

Which is why it's come as a surprise that Tom's Clancy's Splinter Cell 3D's official soundtrack is available not only via digital download, but by way of a two-disc vinyl album! Entitled Chaos Theory Remixed, the soundtrack is a collection of Amon Tobin remixes by himself and other artists. Tobin also produced the soundtrack to Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory which the upcoming 3DS instalment is based on, and he also contributed a track to the Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Conviction soundtrack.

The soundtrack to Splinter Cell 3D can be purchased on the Ninja Tune website as individual tracks or at a discounted price if bought as a whole album. File formats that are available include MP3 and WAV and tracks can be streamed so you listen before you buy.

If you prefer to have physical copies of your music, then you'll want to check out the UbiWorkshop where the double LP can be purchased. Priced at $30.00 USD, the album comes with a pair of glasses to view the 3D inner sleeve. Here's the full tracklisting:

Side A

1 - Breaking Protocol - Amon Tobin
2 - El Cargo - The Qemists Remix
3 - Kokubo Sosho Stealth - Daedelus Remix
4 - Splinter Cell Conviction Theme Menu - Amon Tobin

Side B

1 - The Lighthouse - King Cannibal Remix
2 - The Clean Up - Lorn Remix

Side C

1 - Displaced - The Qemists Remix
2 - Ruthless - Kid Koala Remix
3 - Kokubo Sosho Battle - Daedelus Remix

Side D

1 - Ruthless Reprise - Eskmo Remix
2 - Hokkaido - Lorn Remix
3 - Theme From Battery - King Cannibal Remix

[source, via]