Mario Kart Tour Coconut Mall
Image: Nintendo

Update: Nintendo has confirmed that Coconut Mall is indeed coming to Mario Kart Tour with the upcoming Doctor Tour. And, as you'd expect, Dr. Mario and Dr. Luigi will be joining the race, complete with pill karts and flashing tail lights!

Well, we can't believe we missed the Dr. Mario hints in the teaser image — we should've seen the pills in the background, and we can see many of you in the comments spotted them. So well done! Here's a look at Tour's Coconut Mall (which looks pretty similar to Mario Kart 8's version), as well as the medical license Mario brothers in action:

Doctor Tour kicks off at 11pm PDT on 3rd May, or 2am EDT / 7am BST / 8am CEST on 4th May. The next wave of Mii Racing Suits is also coming with the update, which will feature a brand new Wario costume.


Original article: Nintendo is keeping the Mario Kart Tour updates coming, even with the success of Mario Kart 8 Deluxe and the launch of Wave 1 of the Booster Course Pass. And, following on from the Amsterdam Tour, it looks like racers will be going somewhere a bit more familiar to Mario Kart fans.

Today, the official Mario Kart Tour Twitter has shared a sneak peek at an upcoming course and tour, with a pretty telling description to those who are big Mario Kart players, or even those who are playing through the recent DLC for the Switch game:

It's a bit early, but here's a sneak peek at the next tour in #MarioKartTour! It looks like the stage will be set in an upbeat mall. A tropical breeze may liven up the race!

Sounds like we might need to get our purses and wallets ready and take a trip down to Coconut Mall, one of the most popular courses in the series. First debuting in 2008's Mario Kart Wii, the shopping mall track is hugely popular for its clever use of escalators, chaotic obstacles, speed boosts, and shortcuts. It also recently made its way to Mario Kart 8 Deluxe via the Booster Course Pass, with a few changes.

The interesting thing about the Booster Course Pass is that three of the courses included in Wave 1 are Tour originals, and three of the retro courses — Toad Circuit, Choco Mountain, and Sky Garden — are already in Tour. Many have suspected that courses in the Booster Course Pass will all be from Tour, and the (apparent) addition of Coconut Mall seems to back this up. Only Shroom Ridge is missing from the mobile racer, now. Of course, we can't guarantee that ourselves, so we'll have to wait and see if this turns out to be the case.

We'll find out soon whether our hunch (really, it's more than a hunch — what other mall can you think of?) turns out to be right. In the meantime, if you're still playing Mario Kart Tour, tell us how excited you are for the next tour in the comments!

Further reading

[source https]