Latin America eShop

Nintendo has announced it will shutdown the limited eShops for the Wii U and 3DS family of systems in certain Latin American and Caribbean countries by 31st July 2020.

The brief summary on the Nintendo Support page explains how users in affected regions will no longer be able to redeem codes, redownload software, or update software. It's scary stuff if you're still attached to any of these devices and happen to live in this location.

Here are the full details:

In certain Latin American and Caribbean countries, limited Nintendo eShops for the Wii U system and Nintendo 3DS family of systems have provided a few basic functions, such as game code redemption. Those limited Nintendo eShops will close on July 31, 2020 and users in the affected regions will no longer be able to access them to redeem a download code, redownload software or update software, so we encourage users to take any such actions before the closure date.

As noted, Nintendo encourages users to do everything they need to before the closure date and further explains how software that requires the eShop to operate may cease to function:

Also, any software that requires the limited Nintendo eShops to operate may cease to function. (Note that Mexico and Brazil will not be affected.) We thank everyone for using the limited Nintendo eShops and for being such great fans of Nintendo.

There is an additional breakdown below this notice - informing users to redownload any previously-downloaded software from the eShop, check for any software updates (systems and games), and redeem any codes.

Again, this only applies to certain Latin American and Caribbean countries (Mexico and Brazil are excluded from the list, as they have "full" eShops):

The following regions will be affected by this: Anguilla, Antigua/Barbuda, Argentina, Aruba, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Bolivia, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Chile, Colombia, Cost Rica, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, French Guiana, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Netherlands Antilles, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent/Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, US Virgin Islands, Uruguay, Venezuela.

And for those wondering, this is apparently the reason why the limited eShops are closing:

We constantly re-evaluate our business and make decisions based on a variety of factors.

[source, via]