Time to hit those high notes

Engine Software is clearly not happy with just providing karaoke games on the DSiWare service; no, it wants to provide the first retail karaoke game on the DS too. After last year's Just Sing! Christmas Songs, and the relatively-recent Just Sing! National Anthems, the Just SING! series is making its cartridge form debut next month when it launches in Europe on 3rd December.

In the upcoming retail title, players start off with nothing and must work their way up from performing in small town bars. The career mode will have players aiming to achieve musical stardom as they play in bigger and bigger clubs. Performances will be evaluated and gamers playing the game on a DSi system can even record themselves using the built-in camera and have it streamed live on the screen behind their in-game avatar.

Multiplayer modes include a head-to-head sing-off between two players and the Hotseat mode where up to four players can take part in a fast-moving party game that requires players to sing different parts of the same song, with scores being recorded. The game utilises an acoustic filter to maximise the quality of the audio input, and as well as making the player sound good, the soundtrack will hope to do the same too as 13 different artists have contributed 18 songs to the game:

  • Sugababes – Ugly
  • Nelly Furtado – I’m Like A Bird
  • Lady Gaga – Poker Face
  • Amy Winehouse – Valerie
  • Sugababes – Push The Button
  • 3 Doors Down – Here Without You
  • Mando Diao – Dance With Somebody
  • Timbaland Feat. OneRepublic – Apologize
  • Maroon 5 – This Love
  • Lady Gaga – Just Dance
  • Gloria Gaynor – I Will Survive
  • Amy Winehouse – Rehab
  • Gloria Gaynor – Never Can Say Goodbye
  • Maroon 5 – If I Never See Your Face Again
  • The Commodores – Easy
  • The Supremes – You Can’t Hurry Love
  • Kool & The Gang – Get Down On It
  • 3 Doors Down – When I’m Gone

Not a bad collection of songs there, but let's face it, who would play a game like this when they're out and about?