Bill & Ted
Image: Limited Run Games / Nintendo Life

No, this isn’t a bogus announcement. Two retro Bill & Ted games are getting a physical bundle on the Nintendo Switch courtesy of Limited Run Games.

Aptly titled Bill & Ted's Excellent Retro Collection, the package contains two LJN titles – the 1991 NES game Bill & Ted's Excellent Video Game Adventure, and Bill & Ted's Excellent Game Boy Adventure: A Bogus Journey!, released the same year.

Perhaps not the most critically lauded titles ever, but still an excellent retro package for fans. Limited Run Games announced the collection during its 2022 Showcase yesterday, showing off two versions of the upcoming packages – a standard release, and a Collector’s Edition.

If you’ve never played the games before and are a big Bill & Ted fan, here’s what to expect from this package:

BILL & TED'S EXCELLENT VIDEO GAME ADVENTURE

An NES game based on those two bodacious dudes of movie fame? Excellent!!!

History has been all screwed up and only the San Dimas Duo can set things straight. Awesome responsibility, man. Ride the Power Phone Booth to six different worlds. Galactic, man. Search for famous Historical Dudes through space and time. Most Cosmic.

Talk with the likes of Julius Caesar (he invented Caesar salad) and Napoleon (the short, dead dude). Send them back in time or you’ll miss the Wyld Stallyns concert- starring you! Heavy.

It's a bodacious, mind-boggling role-playing adventure. And your only chance to save the world and earn the respect you deserve. No way - yes way!

A most excellent role-playing adventure!

BILL & TED'S EXCELLENT GAMEBOY ADVENTURE A BOGUS JOURNEY

A world without our most excellent compatriots Bill and Ted? No way! Yes way - if the Grim Reaper and the evil Bill and Ted robots get their way! DeNomolos wants to totally change the future, and the only way to stop this most heinous dude is to travel though the “circuits of time” and collect the stolen time fragments! 10 adventures - 50 quests.

But watch out! Historical dudes like Billy the Kid are tumblin’ with killer tumbleweeds while the Executioner has an axe to grind with you. Napoleon has a “short” temper and even Granny S. Preston Esquire tries to bag you. Most Bogus!

Time is running out…so be excellent to each other and party on dudes!

Bill And Ted Switch Ce Banner
Image: Limited Run Games

The Collector’s Edition comes with a retro-style box, a soundtrack from “the greatest band of all time” Wyld Stallyns, and a dust sleeve. The standard edition will cost you $34.99, while the Collector’s Edition will be a little bit extra at $59.99. You can check out listings for both versions over at Limited Run Games’ store.

Pre-orders open for both editions are available from the 9th June at 7am PDT / 10am EDT / 3pm BST / 4pm CET until 10th July 8:59pm PDT / 11:59pm EDT / 1st August 4:59am BST / 5:59am CET.

Are you going “whoa!” at this surprise physical collection? Will you be picking it up? Let us know, and as always, be excellent to each other in the comments!

[source twitter.com]