Chrono Trigger is held up as a truly iconic RPG, critically acclaimed and with an ardent fanbase even today. Its soundtrack is held in equally high regard, so an announcement out of Square Enix Japan has certainly got our attention.

As reported by Siliconera, Square Enix is releasing a Chrono Trigger jazz arrangement album, the fifth in that particular series. At present it's opened up for pre-orders in Japan ahead of its release on 26th January.

Square Enix has a rather enjoyable thing about jazzing up its classic soundtracks (the video above is from a Tokyo Game Show performance), and there's perhaps some hope we'll get this in the West at some point. Some of the previous jazz albums have gone on sale globally, while Square Enix does have a handful of classic soundtracks available on streaming services like Spotify.

Hopefully that'll be the case with this one, below are the tracks that will be included.

  • “Peaceful Days”
  • “Frog’s Theme”
  • “Lavos’ Theme”
  • “Robo’s Theme”
  • “The Brink of Time”
  • “Battle with Magus”
  • “Schala’s Theme”
  • “Chrono and Marle ~Far Off Promise~”
  • “World Revolution”
  • “Outskirts of Time”
  • “Chrono Trigger”

Would you buy this soundtrack if it was released globally? Let us know, as always, in the comments.