Nintendo

Today sees the grand opening of a new, official retail store for Nintendo, fourteen years since the first one arrived back in 2005.

The store is located at the Dizengoff Center, a shopping mall in Tel Aviv, Israel. It'll be opening at 6pm local time today (so that's 8am PT / 11am ET / 4pm UK / 5pm CET) and a live countdown has begun on its official website. The opening comes just a couple of months after the country received an official online store.

It's amazing to think that up until now, Nintendo has only had one retail store across the entire planet. Nintendo New York first opened its doors back in May 2005 after a complete rebranding; originally, the building was actually a Pokémon-specific shop. A Tokyo store is planned to be joining both the New York and Tel Aviv stores later this year, taking the grand total up to three.

Nintendo Store, Tel Aviv
Nintendo Store, Tel Aviv

Does this mean that we can expect more and more stores to pop up all over the world? We're sure that new stores in places such as the UK, Australia, central Europe and the US' west coast would go down pretty well for starters, so here's hoping for several more of these retail delights.

Would you like a Nintendo store near you? Have you ever been to Nintendo NY? Let us know in the comments below.

[via nintendo.co.il, nintendosoup.com]