The great man himself

Former Nintendo President Hiroshi Yamauchi has been inducted into the 2016 Consumer Technology Hall of Fame.

Yamauchi - who relinquished his presidency in 2002 to Satoru Iwata and sadly passed away in 2013 - has been recognised in the "Video Game Futurist" category. He joined Nintendo in 1949 and oversaw the company's transition away from playing cards and toys to video gaming, the arena in which has achieved the most success and fame.

Organised by The Consumer Technology Association, the Consumer Technology Hall of Fame was founded in 2000 as a means of celebrating the efforts individuals who have helped advance consumer electronics and generally make our lives easier and more enjoyable.

Yamauchi's award is perhaps a reflection on his efforts to re-establish confidence in the video game industry following the crash of 1983. Nintendo's NES was instrumental in building the industry we know today, yet it was initially treated with skepticism in the US thanks to Atari's disastrous practices during the early part of the 1980s. By the close of that decade the name Nintendo had become synonymous with gaming all over the world.

The inductees were hand-picked by a group of select media and industry professionals, based on nominations which were submitted by manufacturers, retailers and journalists.

This year's inductees are listed below:

Visionary Retailer: Sidney Cooper – Silo
Father of Bluetooth: Dr. Jaap Haartsen – Ericsson
Prominent Distribution Pioneer: David B. Lorsch – DBL Distributing
Transformational Technologist: Chuck Pagano – ESPN
Legendary Journalist: Steve Smith – TWICE Magazine
Home Automation Developer: Joel Spira – Lutron
Pioneering Accessories Executive: Nat Tiffen – The Tiffen Company
Video Game Futurist: Hiroshi Yamauchi – Nintendo

Renowned GPS Developers: Norm Hunt, Ed Tuck, Don Rea – Magellan

Distinguished Digital HDTV Grand Alliance Leaders

Dr. Peter Bingham, Phillips Labs President
Jim Carnes, Sarnoff Labs CEO
Dr. Curt Crawford, AT&T Microelectronics President
Dr. Jae Lim, MIT Professor
Jerry Pearlman, Zenith Electronics CEO
Donald Rumsfeld, General Instrument CEO

The 2016 honourees will be inducted into the Hall of Fame this November.