Awesome Games Done Quick Seven Day Event Kicks Off Today

The title says it all

Last year we reported on an extraordinary Ocarina of Time speed-run by Cosmo Wright, in which he beat the game in 22 minutes (a record he'd subsequently improve) and narrated as he went along. That first time was set at AGDQ 2013 (Awesome Games Done Quick), a live stream event over seven days that raised $448,000 for cancer research.

AGDQ time has come around again, with the 2014 event running from 5th to 11th January, once again raising money for the Prevent Cancer charity. It'll feature more of the world's top speed-run players exercising their craft (with no cheats or mods) for your entertainment, all with the goal of raising money. There'll be special items available at various points as prizes for those that donate.

It kicks off at 12pm Eastert / 9am Pacific / 5pm UK time / 6pm CET today (5th January), and can be watched live at gamesdonequick.com. Based on the records set last year and the promotional video below, you can expect a mix of old and new games, with plenty of Nintendo thrown in.

Sponsored links by Taboola

From the web