Summer Game Fest© Summer Game Fest

It seems like early-mid June is going to be rather busy in the games industry. There's E3 2021 on the horizon, and it's now emerged that the Geoff Keighley-led Summer Game Fest is set to gazump its rival by a couple of days.

Though Summer Game Fest will be throughout June and beyond (and lists the E3-centric Ubisoft Forward among relevant events), it'll get ahead of E3 with a 'spectacular live world premiere showcase', which will include performances from Weezer, Day of the Devs and more. It's scheduled for 10th June at 2pm ET / 11am PT / 6pm GMT.

Speaking to GamesIndustry.biz, Keighley said the following about the kick-off event.

The idea is that we will have a big kick-off show this year. Everything last year was so spread apart by nature of the pandemic. And the feedback from everyone is that they want these games shows all together. So, now we are going to just do a big full-on show for Summer Games Fest that leads into the big publisher events. Which is hopefully more of what people wanted, where things are more condensed and combined together. So people have a date and a time to show up for news. That's what we are going for.

In terms of confirmed publishers involved in the course of the festival, the following are inked in - 2K, Activision, Amazon Games, Annapurna Interactive, Bandai Namco Entertainment, Battlestate Games, Blizzard Entertainment, Capcom, Devolver Digital, Dotemu, Electronic Arts, Epic Games, Finji, Frontier, Gearbox Publishing, Hi-Rez Studios, Inner Sloth, Koch Media, Mediatonic, MiHoYo, PlayStation, Psyonix, Raw Fury, Riot Games, Saber Interactive, Sega, Steam, Square Enix, Tribeca Festival, Tencent Games, Warner Bros, Ubisoft, Wizards of the Coast and Xbox.

No Nintendo involvement in this particular event, notably, though it is planning an E3 appearance.

It should be interesting to follow, in any case. Are you looking forward to this year's Summer Game Fest?

[source gamesindustry.biz]