holiday2017poGO.png

Playing Pokémon GO over the next few weeks may not have been your top priority what with the weather turning so cold, but a new celebration for the holidays might just be enough to change your mind.

This event will see the return of the festive Pikachu, a noticeable increase in the amount of ice-type Pokémon appearing in the game all over the world, and even some brand new faces. It has been promised that more water and ice-type Pokémon from the Hoenn region (so Pokémon Ruby and Sapphire) that have never been seen in GO before will be making their debut appearance.

On top of all this, the first PokéStop you visit each day between 22nd December at 1pm PST and 25th December 1pm PST will grant you a single-use Egg Incubator when you spin the disc for the first time. You'll also be able to get your hands on special boxes in the in-game shop including Super Incubators, Lure Modules, and the all-new Star Pieces which earn bonus Stardust for 30 minutes when activated.

The event will launch today at 1pm Pacific / 4pm Eastern (9pm UK / 10pm CET in Europe). Will you be braving the cold to find your favourite ice-type critters? Let us know your plans in the comments.

[via pokemongolive.com]