E3 is right around the corner and Nintendo is already preparing to bring the big guns out in June to keep viewers around the world - and attendees in Los Angeles - engaged and having fun. As with recent years, Nintendo will focus its E3 activities on games that are coming out in the immediate future, with a special spotlight given to a key headlining title: the recently announced Super Smash Bros. for Switch. Games launching beyond 2018 will be featured at a later date.

The festivities kick off with two days of high-level competitive action. Night owls across Europe can watch qualifying international teams – including the reigning European champions from Germany – ink their way to glory in the semi-finals of the Splatoon 2 World Championship tournament, from Monday 11th June at 23.30 (UK time) / Tuesday 12th June at 00.30 CEST until 02.00 (UK time) / 03.00 CEST. The finals will take place on Tuesday 12th June, immediately followed by the Super Smash Bros. Invitational 2018 tournament, which will pit invited players against each other in Super Smash Bros.

All the action from both days will be streamed live on Nintendo of Europe's E3 2018 website, and on YouTube with a chatroom available in viewers’ local language.

At 17.00 (UK time) / 18.00 CEST on Tuesday 12th June, Nintendo will debut a video presentation featuring games releasing in 2018. Right after the presentation, Nintendo Treehouse: Live | E3 2018 will begin three days of live gameplay, appearances by developers and an insider look at games, starting with the upcoming Super Smash Bros title.

From 12th to 14th June, visitors to Nintendo’s booth at the Los Angeles Convention Center will be able to play a variety of games, including Super Smash Bros. Additionally, some of the most noteworthy upcoming third-party games on Nintendo Switch will be featured across several Nintendo activities throughout E3 week. 

Here's the schedule for all the E3 festivities:

Splatoon 2 World Championship opening rounds

Starts: Monday 11th June at 23:30 (UK time).

Ends (approx.): Tuesday 12th June at 02:00 (UK time).

Splatoon 2 World Championship finals

Starts: Tuesday 12th June PT (European times to be confirmed).

Super Smash Bros. Invitational 2018

Starts: Right after the conclusion of the Splatoon 2 World Championship finals.

Video presentation

Starts: Tuesday 12th June at 17:00 (UK time).

Get a look at Nintendo Switch games for 2018, including the recently announced Super Smash Bros. game.

Nintendo Treehouse: Live | E3 2018

Starts: Tuesday 12th June, immediately after the video presentation.

Three days of Nintendo Switch gameplay with Nintendo Treehouse members and developers. Starts with the recently announced Super Smash Bros. game, right after the video presentation.


It sounds like another fun packed E3 with Nintendo bringing a splash of colour to proceedings as usual. Let us know what you are looking forward to most with a comment below.