Nintendo today confirmed its plans for E3 2017, and they show the company returning almost to the formula used prior to 2016's scaled back attendance. There'll be a live streamed video presentation - the 'Nintendo Spotlight' - to kick off festivities, three days of Nintendo Treehouse demonstrations, and also competitive tournaments for two games. All told it's a full-on effort, and it'll be interesting to see whether the Nintendo Spotlight broadcast will have any fun touches that take it beyond a Nintendo Direct, and also how big the company goes with the competitive tournaments.

This is all to be expected considering the fact Nintendo is in the launch year for the Switch, but let's break down the core details for those of you still catching up on the announcements.

When Is It?

The Nintendo Spotlight: E3 2017 presentation will start on 13th June at 9am Pacific / noon Eastern / 5pm UK / 6pm CEST / 2am (14th June) AEDT. That's the first event, with the following then coming over the three main days of E3.

13th June

  • Nintendo Spotlight: E3 2017 presentation at 9am Pacific / noon Eastern / 5pm UK / 6pm CEST / 2am (14th June) AEDT
  • Nintendo Treehouse: Live at E3 to follow afterwards
  • Splatoon 2 World Inkling Invitational

14th June

  • Nintendo Treehouse: Live at E3
  • ARMS Open Invitational

15th June

  • Nintendo Treehouse: Live at E3

What Games Will Nintendo Take to E3 2017?

3DS games will feature in the Treehouse live streams, but Nintendo's press release focuses on the "sandbox-style" Super Mario Odyssey being playable on the show floor along with 'other games for Nintendo Switch'. The Nintendo Spotlight presentation will also have "a focus on games launching in 2017", so the playable games on the show floor will naturally follow suit. Only the following games are nailed on to appear - though it's easy to speculate on various confirmed 2017 Switch titles that could also make an appearance. It is clear, and unsurprising, that Nintendo's newest system will have the lion's share of attention.

  • Super Mario Odyssey
  • Splatoon 2
  • ARMS

That's the bulk of the details revealed so far, with more undoubtedly to come. We'll certainly share some thoughts on these plans, but first of all we want to know what you think; are you excited about Nintendo's E3 plans? Let us know in the polls and comments below.

What part of Nintendo's E3 plans are you most excited about?
Are you hyped about seeing more of Super Mario Odyssey?
Do you think Nintendo will have a good E3?