GameRaisers.jpg

Comic Relief / Red Nose Day isn't far off in the UK, with the main event taking place on 24th March. It raises tens of millions of pounds for good causes every year (also in its Sport Relief guise), not only on the night but in various events leading up to the main broadcast. Gaming will play its part in raising some cash, too.

Twitch is teaming up with Comic Relief to promote 'GameRaisers', a series of events that aim to bring streaming and fundraising together. This week some well-known streamers will be teaming up with athletes and celebrities to broadcast some themed showdowns on the video platform.

The first stream starts today, and will feature gymnast Louis Smith battling streamers in Super Smash Bros., though depending on the information you read there could also be a bit of Mario Kart. Details on that event and more to come this week are below.


  • Kicking off on 20th February at 5pm GMT, partners MissEllaCronin, Two Angry Gamers TV and Stodeh will join Olympic medalist Louis Smith to bash buttons and claim Super Smash Bros. bragging rights.
  • At 5pm GMT on Tuesday 21st February, England and Tottenham Hotspurs player Dele Alli will put his virtual footwork to the test with the help of Spamfish and PhantomSFX.
  • Messiah_tr, LTZonda, and Jay1FifaKing will take on Soccer AM's Adam Smith, and international footballer Alex Scott at the virtual beautiful game, FIFA 17 on Wednesday 22nd February from 5PM GMT.
  • On Thursday 23rd February at 6:30pm, the hilarious Rob Beckett and Made in Chelsea star Jamie Laing will join the Yogscast crew to see if you can still laugh last when you come last…

If you want to watch this showdown at 5pm UK time (which is 9am Pacific / noon Eastern / 6pm CET) then head on over to the Comic Relief Twitch page, where there'll be prizes and donation opportunities.

[via blog.twitch.tv, eurogamer.net, twitch.tv]