With San Diego gearing up to host a much-anticipated Sonic the Hedgehog 25th Anniversary Party, there's more for fans of the blue blur to enjoy while they wait. Partially outlined in this week's Nintendo Download Update details, a range of tempting discounts are currently available on the Wii U and 3DS eShop stores in North America.

The following deals are up for grabs until 28th July.

Wii U

3DS

Are any of you in North America tempted by these deals? Let us know, and be sure to join us for the live stream of Sonic's Anniversary event in our live blog later today - it kicks off at 6pm Pacific / 9pm Eastern / 2am UK / 3am CET, though our live blog will start well ahead of that time. A new Sonic game announcement is anticipated, and we're hopeful that it'll be worth the wait.

[via nintendo.com]