Splatoon Update.jpg

During the March Nintendo Direct it was confirmed that the Splatoon updates weren't finished yet, with confirmation that there'd be two 'waves' of Sheldon's Picks, new weapons that'll provide abilities and secondary attacks a little different from their contemporaries. We now have a date for the first of these updates, with version 2.7.0 coming on 12th / 13th April, depending on your region.

For starters there'll be a brief spell of server maintenance prior to the update going live, which will prompt a bit of a break for eager players - the times are below:

4:50pm Pacific / 7:50pm Eastern (12th April) / 12:50am UK / 1:50am CET (13th April) until 6pm Pacific / 9pm Eastern / 2am UK / 3am CET.

There'll be a range of game improvements and tweaks, as normal, but the main content revolves around the eight 'Sheldon's Picks' weapons, which will arrive at 7pm Pacific / 10pm Eastern on 12th April in North America and 3am UK / 4am CET on 13th April in Europe. The Splatoon Tumblr page has detailed four of them so far, below.

Wasabi Splattershot
Wasabi Splattershot

First up is the Wasabi Splattershot. This beauty is a Splattershot set featuring a few key adjustments by Sheldon. The main weapon is pretty much the same as before, but Splat Bombs amp up its frontline capability. Alternatively, try calling in an Inkstrike to scatter the opposition and give your teammates the advantage. This is just the set for the discerning Inkling looking for something spicy!

Berry Splattershot Pro
Berry Splattershot Pro

Behold the Berry Splattershot Pro! Don't let the tasty paint job fool ya! This remixed Splattershot Pro includes Suction Bombs and Bomb Rush to help punch through the opponent's defenses, letting you finish things off with the great firing range of the main.

Fresh Squiffer
Fresh Squiffer

The new and improved Fresh Squiffer is a Classic Squiffer retooled to allow a different approach. Pairing Suction Bombs with the Squiffer makes it even easier to get the upper hand in battle, and you can quickly turn the tables on foes with the Kraken! Definitely not a set for squids who are afraid to get their tentacles dirty!

Permanent Inkbrush
Permanent Inkbrush

The Permanent Inkbrush is a set remixed by Sheldon to include the high-powered sub of Splat Bombs while retaining the great mobility of earlier models. Recommended for aggressive Inklings with an uncontrollable urge to wreak maximum havoc. Watch out for the Kraken special!


Do any of these weapons appeal to you? Let us know in the comments.

Thanks to all that sent this in.

[via splatoonus.tumblr.com, nintendo.co.uk]