Oh, Nintendo Network maintenance. If it was a person it'd be a slightly cheeky but suspicious boiler repair man, who's friendly and witty but never seems to actually do anything. Nintendo sure likes maintaining its network, and to be fair without this work it'd probably be a hot mess that we'd all complain about, so we should really embrace the stability it offers.

It does lead to regular but short stints of online downtime, of course, and there are a few long-ish maintenance sessions on the way in the next 48 hours. Dates and times are below.


Wii U and 3DS Online Play, Rankings etc - Some network services may become unavailable.

From Wednesday, March 9th at 8pm Pacific / 11pm Eastern / 4am UK (10/03) / 5am CET (10/03) until Thursday, March 10th at 5am Pacific / 8am Eastern / 1pm UK / 2pm CET


3DS Online Play, Rankings, etc -

Some network services may become unavailable.

From Thursday, March 10th at 5.30pm Pacific / 8.30pm Eastern / 1.30am UK (11/03) / 2.30am CET (11/03) until Thursday, March 10th at 7pm Pacific / 10pm Eastern / 3am UK (11/03) / 4am CET (11/03)


Wii U and 3DS Online Play, Rankings etc - Some network services may become unavailable.

From Thursday, March 10th at 8pm Pacific / 11pm Eastern / 4am UK (11/03) / 5am CET (11/03) until Friday, March 11th at 1am Pacific / 4am Eastern / 9am UK / 9am CET


It's also worth noting that Nintendo Badge Arcade, specifically, will be offline for the extended period covered in the second and third downtime windows outlined above, which is being pitched as 'Upgrade Preparation'. The preview image in the SpotPass notification shows a blue 'Free Play' badge, which points to an adjustment towards - potentially - more generous daily access for those not keen on paying for plays.

Some potential disruption across the next two evenings, then, so it may be time to pick out some offline games to play.

Hat tip to RupeeClock for the heads up on Nintendo Badge Arcade's update.

[via nintendo.com]