News Article

Summer Games Done Quick Gearing Up For 22nd June

Posted by Thomas Whitehead

Kicks off with Super Mario 3D World

For those that are fans of speedrun marathons, the Games Done Quick events are major highlights, during which money is raised for charity and we occasionally see record breaking performances. The Summer event is almost upon us, kicking off on 22nd June at 11am Pacific / 2pm Eastern / 7pm UK / 8pm CET.

As normal the event will feature plenty of classics familiar to Nintendo fans, though this is a multi-platform event that'll also embrace recent titles; it all kicks off with the brilliant Super Mario 3D World on Wii U, for example — check out the official schedule for the full lineup.

As always the live stream will be seeking donations for its charity of choice — in this case Doctors Without Borders — and will offer various incentives and contests. The two main prizes being highlighted are a Wii U and 3DS, and the events in the past have achieved some truly impressive totals.

Will you be tuning in when it kicks off next week, and watching over the whole six days? Let us know, and be sure to check out the official website for details.

Sponsored links by Taboola

More Stories

User Comments (8)

Sandro89

#1

Sandro89 said:

The last 2 days have a really good line-up with several Mario Games, Metroid and Zelda. Nice,nice

Nik-Davies

#2

Nik-Davies said:

I've never heard of this before, but it sounds mighty impressive. Good luck to them.

Hero-of-WiiU

#3

Hero-of-WiiU said:

Awesome, will watch 3d world , the be done watching for a while has for the first three days, the lineup is a bit weak. But the last few days are Awsome .

Kaze_Memaryu

#5

Kaze_Memaryu said:

AGDQ 2013 was an epic event already, so I'm positive that this will be equally impressive!

Starwolf_UK

#6

Starwolf_UK said:

Had a peek at a the schedule. Not good times for me but some interesting stuff in there, especially the potential buffer period #5 bonus game.

I guess Ninjabread man is the start of the bad games block (seems like a fairly small block this year).

Yorumi

#7

Yorumi said:

These are always fun to watch. It's great to put it on a second monitor while doing something else. Too bad there's only one blindfold incentive.

AshFoxX

#8

AshFoxX said:

I love speed runs! I've never watched them live before, and over six days I could find plenty to enjoy. I hope NL puts up the link to the stream when it kicks off.

Would also be cool if Wii U could handle streams better so I could watch some of it on my TV.

Leave A Comment

Hold on there, you need to login to post a comment...